Tyre Options....

Anyone can post your questions or comments here.

Moderator: Committee

mightymouse
Location: Beginning to wish I didn't have to get under the Feroza.....

Tyre Options....

Post by mightymouse »

Ok - the Ferozas run out of tyre... the Coopers have been good for a first go - but it now has the gearing to do more.

What would people recommend for a true 31" to 33" outcome on a 15x7.5 rim ? Also can't go wider than 10.5" .....

its not a DD, so whilst I strongly prefer not to end up dead, its on road performance is not my primary concern - I am after as much off road grip as possible, without ending up with a "mud only" tyre for example.

I know tyres are a subject fraught with personal opinions and preferences, but I would really like to hear peoples recommendations.
andrew_wale

Re: Tyre Options....

Post by andrew_wale »

I would not say that I am an expert.

I have used BFG All Terrain & Mud Terrain, Good Year MTR's.

I was originally going to use Coopers, but they were expensive..
I found the MTR's were cheaper. (You do have to look around though).

The MTR's are great as a daily tire, and I have had no issues withe them off road.
http://www.goodyear.co.nz/tyres.asp?id=3#Specs

Anyway, so thats my 2 cents worth.
cj!

Post by cj! »

Ross, I assume that when you speak of not really wanting a "mud only tyre" that you are referring to such tyres as Swampers and Centipedes. If that is the case and you are looking at MT tyres then you are fairly restricted if you want to stay 10.5 wide or less and also stay on a 15" rim. BFG do a 33x10.5 if you can get hold of them and they are $$$ and the new style KM2 won't be out till later in the year in 15" or 16" sizes.

Just about all 31's measure between 30.5" and 30.9" with most being around 30.6" to 30.8". For 15" rims most 32" tyres tend be 11.5" wide and 33" tyres 12.5" wide. If you were to go to a 16" rim then you have options like the 245/75R16 (31x9.7)), 235/85R16(32x9.25) and 255/85R16(33x10).