20th March- Technical day Steve’s shed, Kinglake

Trip Planning and Trip Reports

Moderator: Committee

gwagensteve
Financial Member

20th March- Technical day Steve’s shed, Kinglake

Post by gwagensteve »

Tech Day at my shed in Kinglake, 20 March.

I've been doing these tech days for a few years now, and they've been pretty popular.

The format of the day is pretty loose, and mostly driven by what people want to cover. Obviously I have quite a lot of Suzuki stuff, tools, and experience, but these days are really about kicking ideas around, investigating, and learning. It might be that you learn how to wire a relay, what's inside a transfer case, pick up some basic fab skills, or have a good look under someone else's car that's built a bit differently to yours.

It will kick off around 9.00am on Saturday morning. As there isn't a formal structure, it's no big deal if you turn up late/leave early/whatever. The more the merrier. What we discuss and spend time on will all be about what people think is relevant and who has questions. There's no obvious end time.

Basically, the whole day depends on what people want to learn/discuss. If nobody asks a question it would be a pretty boring day of me rambling about esoteric suspension behaviour. You can prevent this. :lol:

Don't be afraid of asking having (what you might think) is a really basic topic to raise. Everyone has a different experience level.
Don't be afraid to stop the discussion to get something explained.
Don't be afraid to bring something to demonstrate, or an idea, or a tool, even if you're unsure how to use it.
PLEASE don't hover around until 9.00pm to ask your question in the hope it will get covered. Fire away, interrupt!

Bring a topic you want to discuss, bring your car, bring you new cool tyre you want to fit, bring a chair, clothes for any weather, and your lunch.
Consider you might get dirty if you're lying under a car or something.